Diberdayakan oleh Blogger.

La Celeste, The King of South America

Buenos Aires - Brazil may have World Cup titles more than Uruguay. But actually La Celeste is king in South America with the collection of Copa America trophies the most.

The victory over Paraguay with a 3-0 score in 2011 Copa America final match on Monday (25/07/2011) pm make Uruguay now collecting Copa America titles the most with 15 trophies.

Before the tournament this year Uruguay along with Argentina have the tittles the most with 14 trophies. But now, after being a champion in the tournament this year by beating Paraguay with a 3-0 score in final match last night, Uruguay is in the top for the trophy collection.

Uruguay was the first country winning this South America tournament: the first edition of the Copa America was held 1916. La Celeste winning was then followed in 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995 and 2011.

Meanwhile, Argentina had to be fasted any longer for the title after the last time they held it in 1993. And Brazil failed to win a hat-trick after they became the ruler of this tournament in 2004 and 2007.

Paraguay with this defeat will have to wait at least another four years to add the trophies collection into three. Two previous trophies Abiroja won were in 1953 and 1979.

List of countries winning Copa America trophies:

Uruguay - 15
Argentina - 14
Brasil - 8
Paraguay - 2
Peru - 2
Kolombia - 1
Bolivia - 1

Blog Directory EuroSport Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory BlogRankers.com Sports Blogs
blogs Sports blogs flyg stockholm k�penhamn Search Engine Submission - AddMe